08 Oct 2006

ROSSINI: Il Signor Bruschino

Il Signor Bruschino, Farsa giocosa per musica in one act

Music composed by Gioachino Rossini (1792-1868). Libretto by Giuseppe Foppa, based upon the play Le Fils par hasard, ou Ruse et Folie by Alissan de Chazet and E.T.M. Ourry

First Performance: 27 January 1813, Teatro San Moisรจ, Venice

Principal Characters:
Gaudenzio, guardian of Sofia Bass
Sofia Soprano
Bruschino, her father Bass
Bruschino, her brother Tenor
Florville, lover of Sofia Tenor
Un delegato di polizia Tenor
Filiberto, innkeeper Bass
Marianna, waitress Mezzo-Soprano

Setting: The environs of the Castle of Gaudenzio.


Sofia and Florville are in love, but Sofia's guardian, Gaudenzio, is against the match. He is an enemy of Florville's father and when matters seem easier, with the latter's death, he presents a further obstacle, having promised Sofia to the son of his old friend Signor Bruschino. Florville impersonates young Bruschino, detained for an unpaid tavern bill, which Florville has actually settled on his behalf, and the complications that arise when old Bruschino appears are eventually solved when Signor Bruschino is induced to accept Florville as his son, for the present purposes, although well aware of the whole situation.

[Synopsis source: Naxos.com]

Click here for the complete libretto.