28 May 2007

HANDEL: Judas Maccabaeus (HWV 63)

Judas Maccabaeus, a sacred drama in three acts (HWV 63).

Music composed by G. F. Handel. Libretto by Thomas Morell, from the First Book of Maccabees and from Antiquitates Judaicae by Flavius Josephus.

First Performance: 1 April 1747, Covent Garden Theatre, London

Principal Characters:
Judas Maccabaeus Tenor
Simon, his Brother Bass
Israelitish Woman Soprano
Israelitish Man Mezzo-Soprano
Eupolemus, the Jewish Ambassador to Rome Alto
First Messenger Alto
Second Messenger Bass

Setting: Israel c. Second Century B.C.E.

Click here for program notes and synopsis.

Click here for the complete libretto.

Click here for the First Book of Maccabees.

Click here for background on the Mozart re-orchestration.